Health and social care qualifications

Information on required or recommended qualifications for different roles in health and social care.

New health, social care and childcare qualifications

Qualifications Wales is leading the development of a new suite of qualifications for health and social care and childcare.

An update on the qualification start dates has been released by Qualification Wales.

A consortium made up of City and Guilds and WJEC has been appointed as the sole providers of these qualifications in Wales. Please visit the consortium’s health and care website for the latest updates. 

Qualification framework for social care and regulated childcare in Wales

This framework sets out the required and the recommended qualifications for different roles in different service settings, along with qualifications accepted from other parts of the UK. 

Continuing Professional Development (CPD)

Continued personal and professional learning and development is the ongoing maintenance and growth of knowledge and skills throughout life. This keeps people motivated, develops specialist skills and underpins high quality care and support services.

Continuing professional development can take many forms, including informal and formal methods.

More information can be found within the qualification framework.

The CPD toolkit resource is available to support your development.

Best practice guides

We work with the sector to write guidance on some complicated issues. Get advice on what support to expect when you are learning about your job and being assessed for your qualifications

Guidance on how to work positively with people who may be distressed, angry, confused or upset.

Skills for Care and Development

A resource that sets out the minimum expected principles and approaches to the assessment of the diploma qualifications.

Contact us

If you have a question you can Contact us.

Last updated: 07 November 2018