New health, social care and childcare qualifications

01 December 2017
Social Care Wales

Qualifications Wales has commissioned the development of a new set of qualifications for people working in the health, social care and childcare sectors.

From September 2019, these will replace what are currently levels 1, 2, 3 and 5 QCF diplomas for:

  • health and social care
  • children’s care learning and development.

The awarding bodies City and Guilds, and the Welsh Joint Education Council (WJEC) will be working together to develop and deliver the new qualifications.

We have been working with Qualifications Wales to develop frequently asked questions, which you may find useful. 

Qualifications Wales has written draft approval criteria outlining what is needed for each qualification. The awarding bodies will need to meet this to get approval to deliver the qualifications.

A series of events have been set up across Wales to give people the opportunity to feedback on the draft approval criteria. It’s important to attend one of these if you want your say. 

The awarding bodies also have information on their websites about the development of the new qualifications and support that will be available for assessment centres: