Skip to main content

Current qualification accepted

Recommended for practice:

  1. City and Guilds Level 2 Health and Social Care: Core


  1. City and Guilds Level 3 Health and Social Care: Practice (Adults)

Registration is not required

Other requirements

Service regulations require that “the service provider must ensure that at all times a sufficient number of suitably qualified, trained, skilled, competent and experienced staff are deployed to work at the service”.

The suitable qualifications are included on this framework.

Other qualifications accepted

  1. Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (Adults) Wales and Northern Ireland

  2. NVQ 3 Health and Social Care (Adults)

  3. NVQ 3 Care

Other UK qualifications accepted

Workers moving to Wales who hold a qualification recognised by Skills for Care (England), the Northern Ireland Social Care Council or Scottish Social Service Council should complete aspects of the all Wales induction framework for health and social care that are pertinent to their role and the service setting and must also complete the Social Care Wales Principles and Values (adults) Award.

Induction requirements

The All Wales induction framework for health and social care (AWIF) is designed for social care workers and healthcare support workers. It covers care and support for adults, and children and young people. It provides a structure for a common induction in health and social care across Wales and outlines the knowledge and skills new workers need to gain in the first six months of employment.

All employers have a responsibility to make sure their new workers receive a suitable induction using this induction framework. Workers may be new to the role, organisation or sector.