Jump to content
A warm welcome to our 11 new Board members!

A warm welcome to our 11 new Board members!

| Social Care Wales

We’re delighted to be welcoming 11 new Board members, following Welsh Government’s announcement, and are looking forward to welcoming them to their first Board meeting next week.

Abyd Quinn-Aziz, Aaron Edwards, Einir Hinson, Mark Roderick, Sarah Zahid and Kieran Harris started their new role this month and will remain as members until March 2028.

While Dr Edwin Mutambanengwe, Katija Dew, Dr Odosamawen Progress Igbedion, Isobel Lloyd and Sue Phelps will join our Board from April 2025 until March 2029.

As members of the Board, all 11 will play a significant role in scrutinising our work and making sure we follow good practice when it comes to our governance.

Our Chair Mick Giannasi said: “I’m delighted with the decision to appoint 11 new members to the Board.

“Carefully chosen from an initial pool of 86 applicants, they bring a wide range of skills, knowledge and experiences to the table. Some work directly in social care whilst others bring skills from business and leadership or have personal experience as users of social care services.

“What they all share is a commitment to our values as an organisation and a passion for improving social care in Wales.

“We're particularly pleased that our new Board reflects the diversity of the communities we serve, with members from different ethnic backgrounds, gender, ages and physical abilities.

“I’m looking forward to their contributions in making a positive difference for those people in Wales who rely on care and support to live the lives that matter to them.

“I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank our outgoing Board members who have served the public with great distinction since the organisation was first established in 2017.”