Skip to main content

Current qualification accepted

Required for practice:

  1. City and Guilds Level 2 Health and Social Care: Core


  1. City and Guilds Level 3 Health and Social Care: Practice (Children and Young People)


  1. City and Guilds Level 4 Professional Practice in Health and Social Care

Workers who don't have one of the listed qualifications can apply to register as a worker by using one of the other routes to register.

Any qualifications that are listed within more senior roles in the same service area will also be accepted for registration in this role.

Registration with Social Care Wales is now open

Register here

Other requirements

Service regulations require that “the service provider must ensure that at all times a sufficient number of suitably qualified, trained, skilled, competent and experienced staff are deployed to work at the service”.

The suitable qualifications are included on this framework.

Other qualifications accepted

  1. Level 3 Diploma in Health and Social Care (Children and Young People) Wales and Northern Ireland

  2. NVQ 3 Health and Social Care (Children and Young People)

  3. NVQ 3 Caring for Children and Young People

  4. NVQ 3 Care

Other UK qualifications accepted

Workers moving to Wales who hold a qualification recognised by the Department of Education (England), the Northern Ireland Social Services Council or Scottish Social Service Council should complete aspects of the all Wales induction framework for health and social care that are pertinent to their role and the service setting and must also complete the Social Care Wales Principles and Values (children and young people) Award before applying to register.

Induction requirements

The All Wales induction framework for health and social care (AWIF) is designed for social care workers and healthcare support workers. It covers care and support for adults, and children and young people. It provides a structure for a common induction in health and social care across Wales and outlines the knowledge and skills new workers need to gain in the first six months of employment.

All employers have a responsibility to make sure their new workers receive a suitable induction using this induction.