Jump to content
Practitioner groups hierarchy

The hierarchy of practitioner groups for the national safeguarding training, learning and development standards.

Pyramid diagram of the practitioner groups hierarchy
Practitioner groups hierarchy

Any training, learning and development carried out in a higher group will mean there’s no need to refresh training, learning and development in the groups below it.

Group F (public service leaders)

Need to complete group A – basic awareness and relevant bespoke training, learning and development such as corporate parenting, but may be called upon to discuss matters or issues at groups A to E.

Group E (consultancy or sector leader)

  • Strategic leaders
  • Decision makers

Group D (specialist)

  • Roles that have specific child and/or adult safeguarding responsibilities, such as safeguarding leads and named professionals.

Group C (advanced)

  • Registered or regulated practitioners with an assessing, planning, intervening and evaluating role. They will have a clear protection planning role (core group, case conference, strategy meeting attendees) and have a statutory function.

    The third sector will make sure relevant non-statutory roles also have training, learning and development at this level.

Group B (intermediary)

  • All practitioners who have regular contact with adults, children and members of the public in their roles. This includes practioners who are or aren't registered or regulated and volunteers

Group A (basic awareness)

  • All staff working in: social care, health care, local authority departments, police, education, early years, the third and voluntary sector (including volunteers) and independent contractors (commissioned services).
First published: 28 October 2022
Last updated: 2 October 2023
Series last updated: 8 July 2024
Download this page as a PDF (34.3 KB) Download this series as a PDF (261.8 KB)
These files might not be fully accessible