Jump to content
Qualifications to support training, learning and development

An overview of safeguarding training, learning and development qualifications.

Most vocational qualifications for health and social care, and early years and childcare in Wales are provided by learning providers approved by a consortium made up of City & Guilds and WJEC (the consortium).

The consortium manages the quality of the qualifications and is overseen by the qualifications’ regulator, Qualifications Wales.

These qualifications include safeguarding content which reflects roles and responsibilities.

These roles and responsibilities are in line with the practitioner groups in the national safeguarding training, learning and development standards.

Universities and colleges also run vocational qualifications.

They are quality-assured by the frameworks for higher education qualifications of UK degree-awarding bodies.

We have safeguarding resources, including:

  • Group A e-learning module
  • the All Wales basic safeguarding training pack.
First published: 2 October 2023
Last updated: 20 March 2024
Series last updated: 20 March 2024
Download this page as a PDF (40.3 KB) Download this series as a PDF (203.3 KB)
These files might not be fully accessible